This is the "Home" page of the "Business Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Writing  

Library resources and services for your assignments and research project in Business Writing
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2011 URL: http://libguides.pcom.edu/business_writing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

  Literature Types

Different literature types are appropriate for different information needs.

Primary literature reports original findings and new data. In science, research findings are published in peer-reviewed journals. Research papers typically include: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, and References. References put the new work in the context of prior work.
New forms of primary literature are increasingly available through digital collections and institutional repositories; these include datasets, laboratory notes, correspondence, diaries, etc.

EXAMPLES: Journal of Consulting & Clinical Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine

Secondary literature consists of non-original work: it may be a book or book chapter, review article, summary, interpretation, or critique of primary sources. The best way to find books is by searching the PCOM Catalog and E-ZBorrow, the shared catalog of the PA Academic Libraries Consortium. When searching the PCOM catalog, you have the option of limiting to E-books or searching both print and electronic collections.

EXAMPLES: School Consultation, Mental Health Self-Help

Tertiary literature summarizes, abstracts or indexes the information derived from primary or secondary sources. Encyclopedias, atlases, handbooks, etc. help you to find background information on your topic (such as definitions, names and dates) or take you to relevant books and general articles.

EXAMPLE: Comprehensive Clinical Psychology, Encyclopedia of Psychology & Religion

      
     

    Where to Start Your Information Research

    This guide will introduce you to PCOM Library resources and services for your assignments and research projects in Business Writing. These are just a sample of the resources currently available online. New websites appear frequently, and existing websites often add to or enrich their content.

    Many students routinely rely on Wikipedia and other unvetted (unexamined, unevaluated) web sites for information. This guide was developed at faculty request because, "Wikipedia doesn't cut it anymore." 

    Research expertise requires an understanding of:

    • the different types of information available to you: what are primary, secondary, and synthesized resources
    • appropriate selection of information resources
    • database search skills
    • critical review skills
    • research management skills  
       
     

    Business Writing Resources

    OWL Professional Writing Resources and Handouts  This collection of handouts provides information about various aspects of business, technical, and professional writing. Also included are PowerPoint presentations about aspects of professional writing and more.

    Business and Economic Resources from IPL2 hosted by The iSchool at Drexel, College of Information Science and Technology, a business and econinics resource

    Business Communications from Writers Write  resources for business writing, copywriting, editing, marketing, public relations, proposal writing and other forms of business communications

    Good Doucuments Intranet Business Writing A web-site that discusses how to create good business documents in the linked, on-screen environment of Intranets and the Internet

    Business Writers Free Library free Management Library for personal, professional and oraganizational development

    Jane(Journal/Author Name Estimator)   "Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? ..." The Biosematics Group

     

     

     

    Guide Authors

    Stephanie Ferretti
    Associate Director
    215-871-6475
    StephanieFe@pcom.edu

    Etheldra Templeton
    Director
    215-871-6486
    EtheldraT@pcom.edu

    Julia Lewis
    Access Services Coordinator
    215-871-6475
    julial@pcom.edu

    Information Literacy Skills

    What skills do you need? The ability to:

    • determine the nature and extent of needed information;
    • access information effectively and efficiently;
    • evaluate critically the sources and content of information;
    • incorporate selected information in the learner’s knowledge base and value system;
    • use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose;
    • understand the economic, legal and social issues surrounding the use of information and information technology; and
    • observe laws, regulations, and institutional policies related to the access and use of information.

      Middle States Commission on Higher Education, Characteristics of Excellence in Higher Education, March 2009
        

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip