- Academic Search Premier
multi-disciplinary, full text database - including social sciences, humanities, education, and more
- Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
contains data on medical expenditures, healthcare costs & utilization, hospital services & costs, technology assessments, clinical practice guidelines, quality & patient safety, funding opportunities and more.
since 1970, provides coverage on alternatives to animal models in research, plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. From the National Agricultural Library.
health topics, guidelines, drug and clinical trials information from US DHHS
focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text articles, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts
- AMED (Alternative Medicine)
relevant references to articles from around 512 journals, the majority of which are in English and are not indexed by any other biomedical sources. In addition to the specialist journals on AMED's subjects, a range of key general journals are checked for relevant articles. As well as the basic bibliographic information, each record includes index terms using the AMED Thesaurus and an abstract summarizing the article being cited.
- CDC Web
Center for Disease Control's extensive web site provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, statistics, and public health data. Includes prevention guidelines, STD reports, injury mortality data, etc.
Chemistry search engine aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository.
- CINAHL Plus
provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937 with 80 full text journals.
- Clinical Pharmacology
point-of-care drug information includes reports on drug use comparisons, drug reactions, and adverse reactions. Patient education handouts are in English and Spanish.
Problems accessing off-campus? Email email@example.com for a fix.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
contains bibliographic records for over 500,000 clinical trials.
- Cochrane Database of Reviews of Effectiveness
An evidence-based full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. It is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England.
- Cochrane Health Technology Assessment Reviews
brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions).
- Cochrane Library
contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
- Cochrane Methodology Register
aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
- Cochrane NHS Economic Evaluation Database
contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations.
- Cochrane Systematic Reviews
the most comprehensive source for systematic reviews also contains technology and economic assessments, reviews of effectiveness, and citations to clinical trials.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. Over 270 titles are now presented with cover-to-cover coverage.
- Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)
NLM database of teratology, developmental, and reproductive toxicology literature
- Digital Dissertations
Covers 1861 to the present and includes abstracts for dissertations beginning in 1980 and for masters theses beginning in 1988.
- DoD Biomedical Research Database
a diagnostic decision support program designed at MGH/Harvard Medical School to provide quick, easy access to a large database of signs and symptoms of different diagnoses, and to supply plausible explanations for a given set of signs and symptoms.
provides evidence-based, clinically-organized summaries. Summaries are based on review of over 500 core clinical journals and systematic review databases. Updated weekly.
Bulleted format. Links to PubMed abstracts.
- EBSCOhost Web
Simultaneously search EBSCO resources including CINAHL, AltHealth, AMED and more by selecting them from the list of resources rather than linking to the individual resource.
- Entrez Life Sciences Search Engine
A search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information. These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE.
Provides online and mobile access to valuable clinical content including drug references, complete disease and treatment guides, clinical guidelines, and dosing and medical calculators
abstracts of documents and articles beyond secondary level from the U.S. Dept. of Education
- ETHX on the Web
Journal articles, analytics, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University.
Global research news service operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. It features news and resources focused on all areas of science, medicine and technology.
- Facts & Comparisons
drug information references, interactions, MedFacts, and patient information in English and Spanish and more
provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by more than 100 Federal Government agencies.
- Genamics SoftwareSeek
a collection of over 1,000 free and commercial software and online tools for molecular biology and biochemistry.
NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. Currently, GenBank contains nearly 3 billion bases from over 47,000 species.
database of 240,000+ images published in 262 peer-reviewed journals. Search by findings, anatomy, imaging technique, patient age or sex from American Roentgen Ray Society
- Google Patents
- Google Preferences
Click "Scholar Preferences" enter PCOM in the search box in the library links section, save preferences, then look for Links to PCOM or Findit@PCOM in your search results
- Google Scholar
customize to link to PCOM full-text. Click "Scholar Preferences" enter PCOM in the search box in the library links section, save preferences, then look for Links to PCOM or Findit@PCOM in your search results
contains information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
- Grey Literature Report
grey literature has been defined as follows: "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." Examples: reports from foundations, academies, state and federal departments.
- HAPI Health & Psychosocial Instruments
produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
- Hazardous Substances Data Bank
toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemical
- HCUP Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
Largest collection of nationwide and State-specific longitudinal hospital care data in the United States enables research on a range of health policy issues.
- Health Business FullTEXT Elite
provides full text coverage of nearly 130 well-known administrative journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Health Management Technology, Modern Healthcare, and many others.
- Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices as well as software applications used in health services research and in the behavioral and social sciences. It includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed and URLS of providers for additional information or access to the resources.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines with strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
- HealthSTAR( Ovid )
is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research and focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
Provides access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an impartial, evidence-based information resource developed by the nonprofit Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
- Household Products Database
this database from NIH contains health and safety information on more than 2,000 ingredients contained in more than 4,000 common household products. What products pose health risks if they are ingested or inhaled, or if they come in contact with eyes and skin?
- Human Genome (Nat'l Center for Biotechnology Center Univ. of California at Santa Cruz)
complementary assembled views of the human genome with useful browsing tools that provide a wide variety of annotations to the sequence.
- IndexCat (History of Medicine)
this catalog of the library of the Surgeon-General's Office is a bibliography of material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
includes entire spectrum of drug and pharmaceutical information from over 750 journals published worldwide since 1970
contains information on print and electronic journals: availability of abstracts and/or full-text online, aims and scope, journal abbreviations, impact factors, and Web links for over 8,500 journals.
- LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
provided by the National Library of Medicine, LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Data includes the possible effects of drugs on breastfed infants and on lactation and alternate drugs to consider.
- Lexi-Comp Online
a robust drug information database of pharmacologic and clinical information. It includes AHFS, drug ID info, drug interactions, pediatric and geriatric databases, etc. Online version includes insurance plan coverage.
- Linscott's Directory of Immunological & Biological Reagents
free search engine helps you find antibody suppliers for thousands of specific antibodies. Plus locate sources for ELISA assay kits, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, siRNAs, tissues, organs, custom antibody services and more.
- Material Safety Data Sheets
Vermont SIRI provides the electronic world's largest freely accessible Material Safety Data Sheets archive, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products.
Premier source for bibliographic coverage of peer reviewed biomedical literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science, allied health, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The OVID interface links to full-text articles in licensed collections using LinkSource external link resolver. Includes In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and OLDMEDLINE: medicine, preclinical sciences and allied health sciences from 1950 through 1965.
Over 800 topics on conditions, diseases and wellness from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. CAVEAT: Online test entries which contain a "Notes" field listing additional references to other Buros Institute Publications not available in the online version. Visit the Library to obtain a copy from the print version of these references.
- MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series
for academic and educational use only; not for clinical or commercial use at medical (clinic, hospital) or commercial (pharmacy, pharma) facilities. PCOM users are permitted to download summarized content to their PDA for use in clinical or commercial settings. However, while in a medical facility, they must utilize the facility's subscription or forego access if there is no current subscription.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
makes evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related abstract, summary, and comparison materials widely available to health care professionals. NGC is operated by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR) in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA), and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP).
- Natural Medicines
provides detailed and high quality, evidence-based monographs about complementary and alternative therapies.
- NIH RePORTER
RePORTER (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool) combines NIH project databases and funding records, PubMed abstracts, full-text articles from PubMed Central, and information from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office with a robust search engine, allowing users to locate descriptions and funding details on NIH-funded projects along with research results that cite the NIH support.
builds on the OSTMED database and provides access to selected full-text, and is full-text indexed and searchable. No current login needed, use search box on the right for full-text.
- PDQ (Physician Data Query)
NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; a registry of 8,000+ open and 19,000+ closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and a directory of professionals who provide genetics services. PDQ also contains the NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms, with definitions for 6,800+ cancer and medical terms, and the NCI Drug Dictionary, which has information on 2,300+ agents used in the treatment of cancer or cancer-related conditions.
features content from a selection of APhA’s authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, case studies, the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources
- Physical Diagnosis Video (Medical Media Systems)
Unique: In the Examination Technique section, a purple dot in the "Abnormal Findings" column means there is a demonstration available for the abnormal findings you can encounter when you perform that examination technique. You can both learn the correct examination technique and see the abnormal findings you are trying to elicit.
coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy
- Population Index
of interest to demographers, including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality and the family, research methodology, projections and predictions, historical demography, and more
A database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 56 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations.
DSM-IV and other psychiatry texts, journals guidelines and self-assessment tools.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full-text on topics including psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Over 2 million citations of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines, dating back to 1887
research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
containing more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families
the biological activities of small molecules organized as three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
over 22 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s with PCOM LinkSource to full text.
- PubMed Dietary Supplements
NIH database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals.
- PubMed Health
specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research (What Works?), with summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including NASA, Food and Drug sites, a huge selection of physical science sites and allows searching by a large variety of subjects.
Users must register for individual accounts to access SciFinder, the American Chemical Society database of chemical and bibliographic information.
E-mail firstname.lastname@example.org for Registration Site url.
abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with over 44 million citations with bibliometric data to individual authors and institutions.
- Social Science Research Network
devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
free from the University of Kansas School of Medicine a single gateway that searches Merck Manual, MEDLINE for review articles, editorials, and original research, National Guideline Clearinghouse from the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), and Database of Abstract of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).
over 4 million citations, most with abstracts and/or indexing terms and CAS Registry.
- Trip Database
is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
peer-reviewed clinical information system supports point-of-care decision making.
- World Biodiversity Database
a taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse 21 online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms.