Evidence ALERTS from the BMJ Group and McMaster PLUS
Comments (0)
Diagnostic Tools, Images & Videos
Unique tools on Clinical Tools ~ Diagnosis
- DXplaina diagnostic decision support program designed at MGH/Harvard Medical School to provide quick, easy access to a large database of signs and symptoms of different diagnoses, and to supply plausible explanations for a given set of signs and symptoms.
- Visual DX14,000 images span over 800 diseases.
Free registration for mobile access required before download to acquire a user name and password. Link to registration from Visual DX site. - DiagnosaurusAllows you to search 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases, organ system or all entries. Links directly into AccessMedicine to learn more about 1000+ of the most common diseases and disorders.
- Physical Diagnosis Video (Medical Media Systems)Unique: In the Examination Technique section, a purple dot in the "Abnormal Findings" column means there is a demonstration available for the abnormal findings you can encounter when you perform that examination technique. You can both learn the correct examination technique and see the abnormal findings you are trying to elicit.
Evidence-Based Synthesized Resources
- Cochrane Systematic Reviewsthe most comprehensive source for systematic reviews also contains technology and economic assessments, reviews of effectiveness, and citations to clinical trials.
- DARE Database of Reviews of EffectivenessAn evidence-based full text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. It is produced by the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England.
- DynaMedprovides evidence-based, clinically-organized summaries. Summaries are based on review of over 500 core clinical journals and systematic review databases. Updated weekly.
Bulleted format. Links to PubMed abstracts. - Clinical Evidence
from the British Medical Journal (BMJ) provides evidence-based systematic and rigorous answers to common clinical questions and situations. - SUMSearchfree from the University of Texas Health Sciences Center is a single gateway that searches Merck Manual, MEDLINE for review articles, editorials, and original research, National Guideline Clearinghouse from the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), and Database of Abstract of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).
- Trip Databaseis a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Registered users (registration is free) benefit from extra features such as CPD, search history, and collaborative tools.
- AHRQ Evidence Report SummariesDownload evidence-based summaries from the Evidence-based Practice Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research - AHCPR). The summaries are created by the twelve Evidence-Based Practice Centers under contract to the AHRQ. To download the summaries, click on the MobiPocket icon on the Table of Contents page. This will allow you to download both the summaries and the MobiPocket software necessary to read them.
- Entrez Life Sciences Search EngineA search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information. These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE.
- PubMed Healthspecializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
PubMed: the gold standard
Given PubMed's enormous size, it is critical to search it efficiently.
- Use Clinical Queries to limit to clinical study categories or systematic reviews (description). The link to Clinical Queries is under PubMed Tools on the PubMed home page.
- When searching the full PubMed, use Limits to target retrieval. Limiting to Date, English, Human, and Age will significantly reduce the number of citations. Limiting to Type of Article (meta-analyses, RCTs) is an effective way to get the highest Levels of Evidence. Limits link is above the search box.
- PubMedincludes over 20 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Article-level PCOM LinkSource links to full text. Export is enabled to PCOM RefWorks accounts.



Loading...
Loading...
