Request an article via interlibrary loan
Request a book via interlibrary loan
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Forensic Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Forensic Medicine  

Last Updated: May 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.pcom.edu/forensic_medicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started with Information Resarch

This guide will introduce you to PCOM Library resources and services for your assignments and research projects in Forensic Medicine. These are just a sample of the resources currently available online. New websites appear frequently, and existing websites often add to or enrich their content.

Many students routinely rely on Wikipedia and other unvetted (unexamined, unevaluated) web sites for information. This guide was developed at faculty request because, "Wikipedia doesn't cut it anymore." 

Research expertise requires an understanding of:

  • the different types of information available to you: what are primary, secondary, and tertiary literature
  • appropriate selection of information resources
  • database search skills
  • critical review skills
  • research management skills  
     

OneSearch+ simultaneously searches multiple databases and the PCOM catalog. Use it to find a variety of literature from a wide array of sources.  It is a discovery tool that mines information in databases you do not routinely search. Robust metadata assures targeted, relevant search results, an improvement over earlier discovery tools. Pre-indexing assures faster retrieval. A mobile interface provides the growing number of smart phone users with easy access.

 Journal Locator+ links to over 10,000 licensed electronic journals. You can search by keyword, title, subject, publisher, or collection.

LinkSource links from a reference in a database to the full text article in any licensed collection. Look for the database specific link to full text, for example:   in EBSCO and OVID MEDLINE or   in PubMed.

Users may also find useful information in the following Library Subject Guides:

 

Liaisons to Forensic Medicine

Stephanie Ferretti
Forensic Med, Physician Assistant, Psychology
StephanieFe@pcom.edu  215-871-6475

 

Etheldra Templeton
DO, Forensic Med, Physician Assistant
EtheldraT@pcom.edu  215-871-6486

 


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip