Last Updated: Feb 1, 2013
- History of Medicine Images
Provides access to nearly 70,000 images from the NLM History of Medicine Division. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
- Medieval Medical Images (IMMI)-UCLA
The Index of Medieval Medical Images project began in 1988 and aimed to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American collections.
- Seeing is Believing: 700 years of Scientific and Medical Illustration (NYPL)
A selection of scientific and medical illustrations drawn primarily from the collections in The New York Public Library's four research centers, augmented by materials from The New York Academy of Medicine and from a private collector.
Radiology Guide contains additional links to imaging collections.
- Access Medicine Images
Images tab is on the top navigation bar; or use the pull-down menu next to the search box at the top of the Home page.
- Access Pediatrics Images
- Access Surgery Images
- Access Surgery Video Images
interface is divided into 5 sections: Anatomy - interactive 3D Anatomy models, MRI - cross sectional anatomy linked to MRI in 3 planes axial, coronal and sagittal, slides-2D illustrations and slides (clinical photographs, dissections etc), movies, and animations.
- Histology Image Review
This Access Medicine resource provides a systematic review of cell and tissue biology and organ histology. It offers several different magnifications of a structure, tissue or organ as if the student were using a microscope in the histology laboratory.
- MD Consult Images
over 50,000 high-quality medical images from medical books on MD Consult. Images include photos, tables, graphs, and more.
- R2 Library
Over 100 full-text e-books covering medicine, forensics, physician assistants, and psychology.
- Thieme Clinical Collection
collection of 50 core clinical medical textbooks including surgery, radiology, ENT and more
- Thieme E-Book Collection
contains over 50 lavishly illustrated color atlases on basic sciences and clinical medicine.
- Visual DX
14,000 images span over 800 diseases. Institutional site user:
Launch VisualDx at your institution, and click on the “FREE APP for iPad, iPhone, and Android” button on the VisualDx homepage.
Follow the on-screen instructions to receive a username and password via e-mail.
Once you have a username and password, you can download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.
Launch the VisualDx app from your device, and sign in using the username and password you created.
- Catalog of Clinical Images
Skin Diseases Images Atlas
- Hardin MD Medical Gallery Images
- Health Education Assets Library HEAL
HEAL is a database of freely accessible, web-based multimedia teaching materials for educators and learners in the health sciences. HEAL employs a peer review process for inclusion of resources. Users may browse by subject or search for specific terms and results may be limited to animation, audio, image, video, web page formats.
- Hematology Image Bank
American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool.
- Human Genome Project Image Gallery
Links to various image resources and the image gallery for the Human Genome Project
- Infectious Disease Images
Developed by researchers at Partners HealthCare Inc, Massachusetts General Hospital, University of Texas at Austin, and Harvard Medical School, with support from the National Library of Medicine. Designed to address the difficulties in learning microbiology and infectious diseases.
- Medical Imaging Resource Center
- NCI Visuals Online
This collection from the National Cancer Institute contains general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images, and portraits of directors and staff of the National Cancer Institute. All images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission.
- NIH Image Bank
Image Bank contains images from the collections of the NIH Institutes and Centers. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images.
Search over 750,000 images free medical imaging search engine that provides decision support at the point of care.