Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cultural Humility

This guide will help you find resources related to cultural humility.

Introduction

Religious and cultural holidays, festivals, and holy days may interact with the academic calendar in unexpected ways. Review the below schedule for more information.

FY19 Religious & Cultural Holidays

July

  • Wednesday, July 29 – Thursday, July 30: Tisha B’Av (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Thursday, July 30 – Friday, July 31: Eid ul-Adha (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.

August

  • Saturday, August 1: Lammas (Paganism)
  • Monday, August 3: Raksha Bandhan (Hinduism)
  • Friday, August 23 – Saturday, August 24: Krishna Janmashtami (Hinduism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Tuesday, August 27 – Tuesday, September 3: Paryushana (Jainism)
    • Observers may be fasting.
  • Friday, August 30 – Saturday, August 31: Al-Hijra (Islam)

September

  • Monday, September 2: Ganesha Chaturthi (Hinduism)
  • Sunday, September 21 – Sunday, September 29: Mabon (Paganism)
  • Sunday, September 29 – Tuesday, October 1: Rosh Hashanah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Sunday, September 29 – Tuesday, October 8: Navratri (Hinduism)
    • Observers may need travel time.

October

  • Tuesday, October 8: Dussehra (Hinduism)
  • Tuesday, October 8 – Wednesday, October 9: Yom Kippur (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Sunday, October 20 – Tuesday, October 22: Shemini Atzeret (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Monday, October 21 – Tuesday, October 22: Simchat Torah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Sunday, October 27: Diwali (Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism)
    • Observers may need travel time. Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Monday, October 28 – Tuesday, October 29: Birth of Báb (Bahá'í)
  • Tuesday, October 29 – Wednesday, October 30: Birth of Báb (Bahá'í)
  • Thursday, October 31 – Friday, November 1: Samhain (Paganism)

November

  • Saturday, November 9 – Sunday, November 10: Prophet’s Birthday (Islam)
  • Wednesday, November 27 – Thursday, November 28: Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá (Bahá'í)

December

  • Thursday, December 12: Our Lady of Guadalupe Day (Christianity)
  • Monday, December 16 – Tuesday, December 24: Las Posadas (Mexican/southwestern US Christianity)
  • Sunday, December 22 – Monday, December 30: Chanukah (Judaism)
  • Sunday, December 22 – Thursday, January 2: Yule (Paganism)
  • Wednesday, December 25: Christmas Day (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Thursday, December 26 – Wednesday, January 1: Kwanzaa (Pan-African)
  • Thursday, December 26: St. Stephen’s Day (Christianity)

January

  • Thursday, January 2: Bodhi Day (Buddhism)
  • Monday, January 6: Epiphany (Christianity)
  • Saturday, January 18 – Saturday, January 25: Week of Prayer for Christian Unity (Christianity)
  • Sunday, January 19: World Religion Day (Bahá'í)
  • Saturday, January 25: Chinese New Year
    • Observers may need travel time.

February

  • Sunday, February 9 – Monday, February 10: Magha Puja (Buddhism)
  • Sunday, February 9 – Monday, February 10: Tu B’Shevat (Judaism)
  • Friday, February 21: Maha Shivratri (Hinduism)
  • Tuesday, February 25: Shrove Tuesday (Christianity)
  • Wednesday, February 26: Ash Wednesday (Christianity)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.

March

  • Monday, March 9 – Tuesday, March 10: Holi (Hinduism)
  • Monday, March 9 – Tuesday, March 19: Purim (Judaism)
  • Thursday, March 19: Spring Equinox (Paganism)

April

  • Sunday, April 5: Palm Sunday (Christianity)
  • Wednesday, April 8 – Thursday, April 16: Passover (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first two and last two days. Observers may need Kosher options and matzah in place of bread.
  • Thursday, April 9: Maundy Thursday (Christianity)
  • Friday, April 10: Good Friday (Christianity)
    • Observers may be fasting and/or need travel time.
  • Sunday, April 12: Easter/Pascha (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Monday, April 20 – Tuesday, April  21: Yom Hashoah (Judaism)
  • Thursday, April 23 – Saturday, May 23: Ramadan (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day. Observers will be fasting during the day for the duration.

May

  • Friday, May 1: Beltane (Paganism)
  • Thursday, May 7: National Day of Prayer (USA interfaith)
  • Thursday, May 7: Vesak/Buddha Day (Buddhism)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.
  • Saturday, May 23 – Sunday, May 24: Eid ul-Fitr (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day.
  • Wednesday, May 27 – Thursday, May 28: Ascension of Bahá'u'lláh (Bahá'í)
    • Observers may need time off.
  • Thursday, May 28 – Saturday, May 30: Shavuot (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.

June

  • Saturday, June 20: Summer Solstice (Paganism)