Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cultural Humility

This guide will help you find resources related to cultural humility.

Introduction

Religious and cultural holidays, festivals, and holy days may interact with the academic calendar in unexpected ways. Review the below schedule for more information.

2021 Religious & Cultural Holidays

January 2021

  • Wednesday, January 6: Epiphany (Christianity)
  • Sunday, January 17: World Religion Day (Bahá'í)
  • Monday, January 18 – Monday, January 25: Week of Prayer for Christian Unity (Christianity)
  • Wednesday, January 20: Bodhi Day (Buddhism)
  • Wednesday, January 27 – Thursday, January 28: B’Shevat (Judaism)

February 2021

  • Friday, February 12: Chinese New Year
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Tuesday, February 16: Shrove Tuesday (Christianity)
  • Wednesday, February 17: Ash Wednesday (Christianity)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.
  • Thursday, February 25 – Friday, February 26: Purim (Judaism)
  • Friday, February 26: Magha Puja (Buddhism)

March 2021

  • Thursday, March 11: Shivratri (Hinduism)
  • Saturday, March 20: Spring Equinox (Paganism)
  • Saturday, March 27 – Sunday, April 4: Passover (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first two and last two days. Observers may need Kosher options and matzah in place of bread.
  • Sunday, March 28: Palm Sunday (Christianity)
  • Sunday, March 28 – Monday, March 29: Holi (Hinduism)

April 2021

  • Saturday, March 27 – Sunday, April 4: Passover (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first two and last two days. Observers may need Kosher options and matzah in place of bread.
  • Thursday, April 1: Maundy Thursday (Christianity)
  • Friday, April 2: Good Friday (Christianity)
    • Observers may be fasting and/or need travel time.
  • Thursday, April 8: Vesak/Buddha Day (Buddhism)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.
  • Monday, April 12 – Wednesday, May 12: Ramadan (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day. Observers will be fasting during the day for the duration.
  • Sunday, April 4: Easter/Pascha (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Thursday, April 8 – Friday, April 9: Hashoah (Judaism)

May 2021

  • Monday, April 12 – Wednesday, May 12: Ramadan (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day. Observers will be fasting during the day for the duration
  • Saturday, May 1: Beltane (Paganism)
  • Thursday, May 6: National Day of Prayer (USA interfaith)
  • Wednesday, May 12 – Thursday, May 13: Eid ul-Fitr (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day.
  • Sunday, May 16 – Tuesday, May 18: Shavuot (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Thursday, May 27 – Friday, May 28: Ascension of Bahá'u'lláh (Bahá'í)
    • Observers may need time off.

June 2021

  • Sunday, June 20: Summer Solstice (Paganism)

July 2021

  • Saturday, July 17 – Sunday, July 18: Tisha B’Av (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Monday, July 19 – Friday, July 23: Eid ul-Adha (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.

August 2021

  • Saturday, August 1: Lammas (Paganism)
  • Monday, August 9 – Tuesday, August 10: Al-Hijra (Islam)
  • Sunday, August 22: Raksha Bandhan (Hinduism)
  • Monday, August 30: Krishna Janmashtami (Hinduism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.

September 2021

  • Sunday, September 4 – Saturday, September 11: Paryushana (Jainism)
    • Observers may be fasting.
  • Monday, September 6 – Wednesday, September 8: Rosh Hashanah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Friday, September 10: Ganesha Chaturthi (Hinduism)
  • Wednesday, September 15 – Thursday, September 16: Yom Kippur (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Tuesday, September 21 – Wednesday, September 29: Mabon (Paganism)
  • Monday, September 27 – Wednesday, September 29: Atzeret (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Tuesday, September 28 – Wednesday, September 29: Simchat Torah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.

October 2021

  • Thursday, October 7 – Friday, October 15: Navratri (Hinduism)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Friday, October 15: Dussehra (Hinduism)
  • Monday, October 18 – Tuesday, October 19: Prophet’s Birthday (Islam)
  • Sunday, October 31 – Monday, November 1: Samhain (Paganism)

November 2021

  • Thursday, November 4: Diwali (Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism)
    • Observers may need travel time. Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Saturday, November 6: Birth of the Báb (Bahá'í)
  • Sunday, November 7: Birth of the Bahá’u’lláh (Bahá'í)
  • Saturday, November 27: Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá (Bahá'í)
  • Sunday, November 28 – Monday, December 6: Chanukah (Judaism)

December 2021

  • Sunday, December 12: Our Lady of Guadalupe Day (Christianity)
  • Thursday, December 16 – Friday, December 24: Las Posadas (Mexican/southwestern US Christianity)
  • Monday, December 21 – Friday, January 1: Yule (Paganism)
  • Saturday, December 25: Christmas Day (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Saturday, December 26: St. Stephen’s Day (Christianity)
  • Saturday, December 26 – Friday, January 1: Kwanzaa (Pan-African)

2022 Religious & Cultural Holidays

January 2022

  • Thursday, January 6: Epiphany (Christianity)
  • Monday, January 10: Bodhi Day (Buddhism)
  • Sunday, January 16: World Religion Day (Bahá'í)
  • Sunday, January 16 – Monday, January 17: B’Shevat (Judaism)
  • Tuesday, January 18 – Tuesday, January 25: Week of Prayer for Christian Unity (Christianity)

February 2022

  • Tuesday, February 1: Chinese New Year
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Wednesday, February 16: Magha Puja (Buddhism)

March 2022

  • Tuesday, March 1: Shivratri (Hinduism)
  • Tuesday, March 1: Shrove Tuesday (Christianity)
  • Wednesday, March 2: Ash Wednesday (Christianity)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.
  • Wednesday, March 16 – Thursday, March 17: Purim (Judaism)
  • Thursday, March 17 – Friday, March 18: Holi (Hinduism)
  • Sunday, March 20: Spring Equinox (Paganism)

April 2022

  • Saturday, April 2 – Sunday, May 1: Ramadan (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day. Observers will be fasting during the day for the duration
  • Friday, April 8: Vesak/Buddha Day (Buddhism)
    • Observers may need vegetarian options.
  • Sunday, April 10: Palm Sunday (Christianity)
  • Thursday, April 14: Maundy Thursday (Christianity)
  • Friday, April 15: Good Friday (Christianity)
    • Observers may be fasting and/or need travel time.
  • Friday, April 15 – Friday, April 22: Passover (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first two and last two days. Observers may need Kosher options and matzah in place of bread.
  • Sunday, April 17: Easter/Pascha (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Wednesday, April 27 – Thursday, April 28: Hashoah (Judaism)

May 2022

  • Sunday, May 1: Beltane (Paganism)
  • Monday, May 2 – Tuesday, May 0213: Eid ul-Fitr (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events on the first day.
  • Thursday, May 5: National Day of Prayer (USA interfaith)
  • Sunday, May 29 – Monday, May 30: Ascension of Bahá'u'lláh (Bahá'í)
    • Observers may need time off.

June 2022

  • Saturday, June 4 – Monday, June 6: Shavuot (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Tuesday, June 21: Summer Solstice (Paganism)

July 2022

  • Saturday, July 9 – Wednesday, July 13: Eid ul-Adha (Islam)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Friday, July 29 – Saturday, July 30: Al-Hijra (Islam)

August 2022

  • Saturday, August 1: Lammas (Paganism)
  • Friday, August 5 – Saturday, August 6: Tisha B’Av (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Thursday, August 11: Raksha Bandhan (Hinduism)
  • Friday, August 19 – Saturday, August 20: Krishna Janmashtami (Hinduism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Tuesday, August 23 – Wednesday, August 31: Paryushana (Jainism)
    • Observers may be fasting.
  • Friday, August 30 – Saturday, August 31: Al-Hijra (Islam)
  • Saturday, August 31: Ganesha Chaturthi (Hinduism)

September 2022

  • Wednesday, September 15 – Thursday, September 16: Yom Kippur (Judaism)
    • Plan limited activities after a fast.
  • Wednesday, September 21 – Thursday, September 29: Mabon (Paganism)
  • Sunday, September 25 – Tuesday, September 27: Rosh Hashanah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Monday, September 26 – Tuesday, October 4: Navratri (Hinduism)
    • Observers may need travel time.

October 2022

  • Monday, September 26 – Tuesday, October 4: Navratri (Hinduism)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Wednesday, October 5: Dussehra (Hinduism)
  • Friday, October 7 – Saturday, October 8: Prophet’s Birthday (Islam)
  • Sunday, October 16 – Tuesday, October 18: Atzeret (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Monday, October 17 – Tuesday, October 18: Simchat Torah (Judaism)
    • Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events. Observers may need Kosher options.
  • Monday, October 24: Diwali (Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism)
    • Observers may need travel time. Avoid scheduling major academic deadlines or events.
  • Wednesday, October 26: Birth of the Báb (Bahá'í)
  • Thursday, October 27: Birth of the Bahá’u’lláh (Bahá'í)
  • Monday, October 31 – Tuesday, November 1: Samhain (Paganism)

November 2022

  • Monday, November 28: Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá (Bahá'í)

December 2022

  • Monday, December 12: Our Lady of Guadalupe Day (Christianity)
  • Friday, December 16 – Saturday, December 24: Las Posadas (Mexican/southwestern US Christianity)
  • Sunday, December 18 – Monday, December 26: Chanukah (Judaism)
  • Tuesday, December 21 – Saturday, January 1: Yule (Paganism)
  • Sunday, December 25: Christmas Day (Christianity)
    • Observers may need travel time.
  • Monday, December 26: St. Stephen’s Day (Christianity)
  • Monday, December 26 – Saturday, January 1: Kwanzaa (Pan-African)