Surgery - Databases

Provides access to a wide-variety of medical resources including videos, self-assessment tools, and access to a multi-disciplinary selection of textbooks. Also includes Quick Reference tools such as the Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7e, and 2 Minute Medicine. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a free Access Profile, which gives you access to additional features, such as bookmarking your favorite content, tracking your self-assessment progress, and receiving tailored alerts and communications. Mobile app available.

Surgical education and training resource providing access to textbooks such as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, along with multimedia, cases, and a variety of study tools. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a free Access Profile, which gives you access to additional features, such as bookmarking your favorite content, tracking your self-assessment progress, and receiving tailored alerts and communications. Mobile app available.

Anatomy TV is an interactive, 3D anatomical resource used for learning and teaching human anatomy. It offers detailed, high-resolution models of the human body, allowing users to explore various systems (such as musculoskeletal, nervous, cardiovascular, and more) in a virtual, 3D environment. The platform is designed for medical students, healthcare professionals, and educators, providing tools for in-depth study, including features like labeling, dissection views, and the ability to isolate specific structures.

Aquifer is an online learning platform designed to provide medical education through interactive, case-based modules. It is primarily used by medical students, educators, and healthcare professionals. Aquifer offers a wide range of clinical case simulations that cover topics across different medical specialties, including pediatrics, internal medicine, family medicine, and obstetrics/gynecology. These cases are designed to help learners develop critical thinking, diagnostic skills, and clinical decision-making abilities. Aquifer's resources are commonly used in medical schools and residency programs to supplement traditional education with real-world scenarios. To use this resource, contact Jim Panacio for account setup and use instructions.

BoardVitals is an online platform that provides practice questions and study resources for medical professionals preparing for board exams, certification, and licensure exams in various specialties. It offers question banks, detailed explanations, and performance analytics for exams in areas such as internal medicine, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics, and many others. BoardVitals is widely used by medical students, residents, and practicing clinicians to help improve knowledge retention, test-taking skills, and exam performance. The platform is designed to be a comprehensive study tool for those aiming to pass their medical exams and maintain certification. Click "Register" at top right upon access to register for a free account with your PCOM email.

ClinicalKey is an extensive, evidence-based medical resource designed for healthcare professionals. It provides access to a vast collection of medical content, including textbooks, journals, clinical guidelines, drug information, multimedia, and medical calculators. ClinicalKey covers a wide range of specialties, offering trusted, up-to-date information to support clinical decision-making, research, and education.

Journal of Medical Insight (JoMI) is a medical education platform that offers high-quality, surgical education videos through its Masterclass Surgical Education series. The videos feature detailed, step-by-step demonstrations of various surgical procedures performed by experienced surgeons. These videos are designed to provide medical students, residents, and healthcare professionals with visual and educational resources to improve their surgical skills and knowledge. JoMI aims to enhance surgical training by making advanced techniques and procedures accessible through expertly produced, real-life footage.

The LWW Health Library - Clerkship Collection offers essential resources for medical students during clinical rotations. It includes textbooks, case studies, and clinical tools across specialties like internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, psychiatry, family medicine, and obstetrics/gynecology. The collection supports students' clinical training, enhances their knowledge, and helps prepare them for rotations with up-to-date, evidence-based content. Log in using your PCOM username and password. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a personalized account, which allows access to self-assessments, saving favorite content, and more, though it is not required.

MedOne Education is an online platform offering a comprehensive collection of medical textbooks, clinical references, and educational resources. It provides access to a wide range of content across various medical disciplines, including surgery, cardiology, pediatrics, and more. MedOne Education is designed to support medical students, professionals, and educators with interactive features like quizzes, video lectures, and case studies, helping users enhance their knowledge and skills in clinical practice.

Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source is a specialized database that provides access to a wide range of literature related to rehabilitation, sports medicine, and related fields. It includes journal articles, research studies, and clinical resources on topics such as physical therapy, sports injuries, orthopedic rehabilitation, and exercise science. The database is used by healthcare professionals, researchers, and students to stay updated on the latest evidence-based practices, treatments, and therapies in rehabilitation and sports medicine. It is designed to support research, clinical decision-making, and education in these fields.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive database that provides access to scholarly literature on sports, fitness, and exercise science. It includes a wide range of resources, such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and reports, covering topics like sports medicine, kinesiology, physical education, nutrition, exercise physiology, and sports psychology. SPORTDiscus is widely used by researchers, students, and professionals to find evidence-based information and stay updated on the latest research in the field of sports and physical activity.