DO Clerkships - Clinical Tools and Point of Care Databases

BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool designed for healthcare professionals. It provides up-to-date, reliable information on the diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and prevention of medical conditions. The platform includes clinical guidelines, recommendations, and detailed information on disease management, helping healthcare providers make informed decisions at the point of care.

Clinical Pharmacology, powered by ClinicalKey, is an evidence-based drug information resource designed for healthcare professionals. It provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on medications, including drug monographs, dosing recommendations, potential side effects, drug interactions, contraindications, and clinical uses. This resource helps clinicians make informed decisions about drug therapies, ensuring safe and effective patient care.

The Cochrane Library is an online collection of high-quality, evidence-based resources designed to support healthcare decision-making. It includes several key databases, such as the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), which contains systematic reviews on healthcare interventions, and the Cochrane Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a database of randomized controlled trials (RCTs). The Cochrane Library also provides Cochrane Clinical Answers, which offer concise, evidence-based answers to specific clinical questions. Together, these resources help healthcare professionals, researchers, and policymakers access trustworthy information to inform their practice and decisions.

DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool used by healthcare professionals to access up-to-date, reliable information on medical conditions, treatments, and drug information. It provides summaries of the latest research, clinical guidelines, and expert recommendations to help clinicians make informed decisions at the point of care. DynaMed covers a wide range of specialties, including internal medicine, pediatrics, cardiology, and more, making it a valuable resource for doctors, nurses, and other healthcare providers. Updated weekly.

Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool designed for healthcare professionals working in the rehabilitation field. It provides access to a wide range of resources, including clinical guidelines, patient education materials, and research summaries, covering various rehabilitation topics such as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, and rehabilitation for specific conditions (e.g., stroke, spinal cord injuries, and musculoskeletal disorders). RRC is used by clinicians to support clinical decision-making, enhance patient care, and stay up-to-date with the latest evidence and best practices in rehabilitation. The resource includes treatment protocols, patient management strategies, and tools for evidence-based practice.

Diagnosaurus, part of the AccessMedicine platform, is a medical reference tool and diagnostic aid designed to help healthcare professionals quickly generate differential diagnoses based on clinical symptoms. It provides a list of potential conditions or diseases that match a set of symptoms entered by the user. Often used by medical students, residents, and clinicians, Diagnosaurus offers a comprehensive database of diseases and conditions, helping to narrow down possible diagnoses and guide further investigation. It's available as both a mobile app and a web tool.

Cochrane Library Clinical Answers is a resource that provides concise, evidence-based answers to clinical questions. It summarizes the findings of Cochrane reviews and presents them in an easy-to-understand format, helping healthcare professionals quickly access reliable information to guide decision-making in practice. These answers focus on practical implications for patient care, offering evidence on treatment effectiveness, safety, and other clinical considerations.

Isabel: Diagnostic Decision Support is a clinical decision support tool designed to assist healthcare professionals in diagnosing medical conditions. It provides a differential diagnosis based on a patient's symptoms, medical history, and other clinical data. Isabel helps clinicians by generating a list of potential diagnoses, which can be further explored with detailed information on each condition. It is used to improve diagnostic accuracy, reduce errors, and enhance patient care by offering evidence-based insights and supporting decision-making in complex clinical scenarios.