Drug Databases
The URL you get when logged in to PCOM Library resources is specific to you at the moment you're using it. The link will not be usable by anyone else or access the same information. Make sure you only use the company or vendor URL for your reference. For additional information about citing this type of resource please see Chapter 24 of Citing Medicine or #40 and #41 in Electronic Material from NLM Samples of Formatted References.
Specific database or Author(s). Title of Database [Type of Medium]. Place of Publication: Publisher. Date of Publication of Database. Title of Part; [Date of Update (if applicable); Date of Citation of Part]; Availability
Specific database. Lexicomp [Internet]. Hudson, OH: Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. 1978-. Monograph, topic, or chart name; [cited Year Abbr Mo Day]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com
Example
Lexi-Drugs. Lexicomp [Internet]. Hudson, OH: Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. 1978-2019. Acetaminophen; [2019 Mar 1]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com
Specific database. Micromedex [Internet]. Greenwood Village, CO: Truven Health Analytics, Inc. Year of copyright. Title of Monograph or document; [cited Year Abbr Mo Day]. Available from: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com
Example
DRUGDEX. Micromedex [Internet]. Greenwood Village, CO: Truven Health Analytics, Inc. 2019. Infliximab; [2019 Mar 1]. Available from: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com
Gold Standard, Inc. Clinical Pharmacology [Internet]. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier. Year of copyright. Title of Monograph or document; [cited Year Abbr Mo Day]. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com/pharmacology/
Example
Gold Standard, Inc. Clinical Pharmacology [Internet]. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier. 2019. Amoxicillin 125mg Chewable Tablet; [2019 Mar 1]. Available from: https://www.clinicalkey.com/pharmacology/
Specific database. Natural Medicines [Internet]. Somerville, MA: Natural Medicines. Year of copyright. Title of Monograph or document; [cited Year Abbr Mo Day]. Available from: https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/
Example
Foods, Herbs & Supplements. Natural Medicines [Internet]. Somerville, MA: Natural Medicines. 2019. Aloe; [2019 Mar 1]. Available from: https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/
Author(s). UpToDate [Internet]. Waltham, MA: UpToDate. Year of copyright. Title of Part; [Date of Update (if applicable); Date of Citation of Part]. Available from: http://www.uptodate.com/
Example
Pichler, WJ. UpToDate [Internet]. Waltham, MA: UpToDate. 2019. Drug hypersensitivity: Classification and clinical features; [updated 2019 Feb 18; 2019 Mar 1]. Available from: http://www.uptodate.com/
The Drug Information Portal connects users to information from a variety of sources. When citing information from this website make sure you cite from the website or database it leads you to, such as DailyMed or ClinicalTrials.gov.