LGBTQIA+ Books
-
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient
by
ISBN: 9780323496421Publication Date: 2019-03-25Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Ferrando, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. -
Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
by
ISBN: 9781938921001Publication Date: 2015-05-30Written by leading experts in the field of LGBT health in conjunction with The Fenway Institute at Fenway Health, one of the most trusted and respected community-based research, education, and care centers, this edition continues to present the important issues facing patients and practitioners. -
Gender Affirmation: Medical and Surgical Perspectives
by
ISBN: 1626236836Publication Date: 2016-11-23This sensitively written, comprehensive book is a must-have roadmap for every physician and caregiver as they master the techniques to support the profound journey of their transgender patients. This book delivers robust, essential content from internationally recognized innovators and veterans in the field, including cutting-edge techniques for all gender transition surgeries. -
Implementing Curricular and Institutional Climate Changes to Improve Health Care for Individuals Who are LGBT, Gender Nonconforming, or Born with DSD: A Resource for Medical Educators
by
ISBN: 0000901024Publication Date: 2014Health care disparities continue to be experienced by people who are LGBT, gender nonconforming, and/or are born with differences in sex development (DSD). To reduce these disparities, all health care providers must learn to address the specific health care needs of these populations, and health care institutions must promote a climate that supports, values, and includes individuals in these populations. -
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health
by
ISBN: 9781440843389Publication Date: 2017-10-27LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice. It will equip professionals at institutions with mental health programs that deal with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues with information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services. -
LGBTQ Cultures: What Health Care Professionals Need to Know About Sexual and Gender Diversity
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 1496394607Publication Date: 2017-11-16Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated LGBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition, paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. -
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781260459944Publication Date: 2022With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities.
Videos
-
Alexander Street Video - LGBT Studies in Video
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. After logging in, you have the option to create a free personal account, which gives you additional access to Learning Tools features such as video interactions, clip creation and sharing.
-
National LGBT Health Education Center VideosNational LGBT Health Education Center videos are available on-demand for viewing. Access a recording, download a copy of the presenter’s slides, and fill out an evaluation at any time.
-
Psychotherapy.net - LGBTVideos for and by psychotherapists on sexuality-related topics.
Journals, Periodicals, and More
-
LGBTQ+ Source™LGBTQ+ Source™ is a database that provides access to a wide range of resources related to LGBTQ+ studies. It includes scholarly articles, books, reports, and other materials covering topics such as LGBTQ+ rights, social issues, health, history, and culture. The database is valuable for researchers, students, and professionals seeking information on LGBTQ+ issues and aims to support research in areas like sociology, psychology, gender studies, and public health. LGBTQ+ Source™ helps users access both academic and popular content related to the LGBTQ+ community.
-
Find LGBT Journals in the Library CollectionStart here to discover 40+ LGBT-related journals accessible through the library.
Guide Information
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2025 10:50 AM
URL: https://libguides.pcom.edu/lgbt
Subjects: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Access