Surgery - Books

Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, and pediatrics.

From Access Surgery

Access Surgery

Provides a clear overview of the exposures, incision sites, surgically relevant landmarks, structures, fascial planes, and common anatomical variants relevant to general surgical operative procedures.

Build the Confidence for Success on Your Exams and in the Operating Suite! Written in a rapid-fire question-and-answer format ideal for learning on the go, this best-selling clerkship resource covers both general surgery and surgical subspecialties and provides accurate, on-the-spot answers to the questions most likely encountered during rotations and on the shelf exam. This enhanced 9th edition reflects the latest advances in key areas, as well as additional Rapid-Fire Review questions and new Rapid-Fire Vignettes to prepare students for success on exams and beyond. Rapid-Fire Reviews at the end of most chapters and a pre-and post-book test evaluate students' knowledge, demonstrate students' level of mastery, and identify areas for further focus. NEW! Three-Dimensional Surgical Vignette Chess offers a novel, three-column format to practice handling patient scenarios and to assess knowledge. Surgical Overview and Background sections deliver practice advice and tricks of the trade. Hundreds of mnemonics, acronyms, tips, prompts, and hints help students master and retain essential knowledge. Concise procedure descriptions and a strategic two-column format prepare students for active participation in the operating suite.

Campbell’s Operative Orthopaedics is an essential reference for trainees, a trusted clinical tool for practitioners, and the gold standard for worldwide orthopaedic practice.

Now in its updated Seventh Edition, Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics remains a must-have for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. This classic, comprehensive reference covers the basic science, clinical manifestations, and management of orthopaedic problems in children. Now in full color, the foremost orthopaedists examine normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. The clinical chapters include pearls and pitfalls and a description of the author's preferred approach. The book will now cover surgical techniques of management with step-by-step illustrations from the Atlas ofPediatric Orthopaedic Surgery.

Part of the practical, highly illustrated Operative Techniques series, this fully revised title brings you up to speed with must-know surgical techniques in today's technically demanding shoulder and elbow surgery. Step-by-step, evidence-based guidance walks you through both common and unique cases you're likely to see in your practice, while tips, pearls, and pitfalls help you optimize outcomes.

Rapid Reference Review in Orthopedic Trauma: Pivotal Papers Revealed provides a quick and succinct way to find the key information and quick facts you need to know instantly. Medical literature continues to expand at an exponential pace and finding the most important information is becoming increasingly difficult. Rapid Reference Review in Orthopedic Trauma: Pivotal Papers Revealed is a great literary reference that will prove highly useful to orthopedic residents, fellows, and medical students, as well as practicing and academic orthopedic surgeons.

This exhaustive reference includes new chapters and pedagogical features, as well as--for the first time--content on managing fragility factures. To facilitate fast, easy absorption of the material, this edition has been streamlined and now includes more tables, charts, and treatment algorithms than ever before. Experts in their field share their experiences and offer insights and guidance on the latest technical developments for common orthopaedic procedures, including their preferred treatment options.

With contributions from experts in orthopedic surgery, the latest edition of this comprehensive resource presents up-to-date technical procedures for treating a wide range of fractures in children and adolescents.

Provides a clear view of orthopedic anatomy from the surgeon's perspective using easy-to-follow descriptions and hundreds of superb full-color illustrations.

Fields of neurosurgery in which important recent advances have been made. Written by specialists In the fields.Presents detailed descriptions of standard operative procedures and in-depth reviews of established knowledge. Includes supplementary material.

The current book serves as a textbook, training manual and reference book for those involved in Gamma Knife practice covering the theoretical background, the practical aspects of treatment, the social side of the method and necessary information not only for users but for those who refer to the Gamma Knife. I

Provides a clear, superbly illustrated introduction to all aspects of neurosurgery-from general principles to specific techniques.

Discusses indications, operative techniques, complications, and results for nearly every routine and specialized procedure for brain, spinal, and peripheral nerve problems in adult patients. Covers the latest techniques and knowledge in deep brain stimulation for epilepsy, movement disorders, dystonia, and psychiatric disorders; surgical management of blast injuries; invasive electrophysiology in functional neurosurgery; and interventional management of cerebral aneurysms and arterio-venous malformations.

Fully updated to reflect recent advances in the basic and clinical neurosciences, the 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about functional and restorative neurosurgery, deep brain stimulation, stem cell biology, radiological and nuclear imaging, and neuro-oncology, as well as minimally invasive surgeries in spine and peripheral nerve surgery, and endoscopic and other approaches for cranial procedures and cerebrovascular diseases.

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023. Featuring more than 550 full-color, 3-dimensional drawings of anatomic exposures for every open vascular procedure you're likely to perform, Anatomic Exposures in Vascular Surgery, 4th Edition, clearly and uniquely depicts the anatomy the vascular or general surgeon will see in the operating room.

Operative Dictations in General and Vascular Surgery, Second Edition is intended to teach residents the principles of succinct and precise operative dictations for a wide spectrum of surgical procedures. Designed as a portable resource, the book provides typical dictations to guide the resident. Comprised of 226 procedures, this new edition comprises the majority of procedures commonly performed by general and vascular surgeons.

Encyclopedic, definitive, and state-of-the-art in the field of vascular disease and its medical, surgical, and interventional management, Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy offers authoritative guidance from the most respected and innovative global thought leaders and clinical and basic science experts of our time.

Provides "how-to" information on all aspects of access to the vascular system for hemodialysis, parenteral nutrition, chemotherapy, and resuscitation. Preoperative evaluation, operations, noninvasive procedures, complications, and other aspects are detailed.

Dr. Wesley Moore and a team of international experts prepare you to succeed, using an easy-to-read, user-friendly format and hundreds of review questions to promote efficient and effective study.

The aim of this book is to help clinicians to reduce the risk of complications after vascular and endovascular surgery. This book is for all surgeons and radiologists who accept the challenge continually to improve their results. Each chapter is authored by an experienced (endo)vascular specialist who will have witnessed firsthand the perils and pitfalls of vascular procedures.

This new edition of Vascular Interventional Radiology: Current Evidence in Endovascular Surgery provides a thorough yet succinct and accessible review of the latest knowledge in the field of endovascular surgery. All chapters have been updated to reflect the advances that have occurred during the past five years, and new chapters are included on carotid artery stenting and day case intervention.

This updated and revised third edition of Vascular Surgery: Cases, Questions and Commentaries provides a unique collection of real-life case histories, written by experts, that highlights the diversity of problems encountered in vascular surgery.

Ideal for hands-on, day-to-day use in practice, Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5th Edition, helps you master the critical nerve blocks you need to know to treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes successfully.

Expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children.

Edited by master clinician-experts appointed by the American Academy of Pain Medicine, this is a state-of-the-art multidisciplinary textbook covering medical, interventional, and integrative approaches to treating and managing pain. It is designed as a practical and comprehensive primary reference for busy physicians and is also an up-to-date resource for preparing for certification examinations in pain medicine

Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain.

For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format, including lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.

A volume in the new Interventional and Neuromodulatory Techniques for Pain Management series - presents state-of-the-art guidance on when and why these procedures should be performed, the mechanisms of action on pain, and current guidelines for practice.