PA Liaison Librarian
Resources For Finding Data
- Bio-WebCell and molecular biology news, books, tools and resources.
- BRENDA: Enzyme Information SystemMain web collection of enzyme functional data. Includes nomenclature, organism, kinetics, isolation, stability, and reaction data, literature references and links to sequence databases. Related to the print Enzyme Handbook (Springer).
- EMBL European Bioinformatics InstituteDatabases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures.
- ENTREZ (NCBI)Cross-database search page that includes: PubMed, OMIM, OMIA, PubChem, Nucleotide, Protein, Genome, Structure, singlenucleotide polymorphism, UniGene, conserved protein domain databases, UniSTS, Cancer Chromosomes, Genome Project, and more.
- ExPASy SIB Bioinformatics Resource PortalThe ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D.
- InterPro: Classification of Protein FamiliesInterPro is a database of protein families, domains, repeats and sites in which identifiable features found in known proteins can be applied to new protein sequences.
- Kinemage Home PageMAGE creators demonstrate 3-D animation of molecules; free software may be downloaded.
- MEROPS: The Peptidase DatabaseA database of files on individual peptidases, families and clans, accessible via a set of indexes. Additional resources include 3D images, information on the biomedical or technological relevance of the peptidases, statistical data, and a chart showing which major groups of organisms have been found to contain which families and clans of peptidases.
- MetaBase—the wiki-database of biological databasesThe paper that describes a new wiki of biological databases, "MetaBase—the wiki-database of biological databases"
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationNCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. Includes GenBank, Entrez, Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.
- NEBcutter V3.0This tool will take a DNA sequence and find the large, non-overlapping open reading frames using the E.coli genetic code and the sites for all Type II and commercially available Type III restriction enzymes that cut the sequence just once. By default, only enzymes available from NEB are used, but other sets may be chosen.
- OMIMA comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily.
- RCSB Protein Data BankWorldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.
- PubChemPubChem is a free chemical database maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and chemical compounds. PubChem includes data on the chemical properties, structure, biological effects, safety information, and availability of millions of compounds. It is widely used by researchers, scientists, and healthcare professionals to access detailed chemical information, perform molecular searches, and explore connections between chemistry and biological activities. PubChem serves as a key resource for research in fields like chemistry, pharmacology, and drug discovery.
- MolBio Information ServiceUniversity of Pittsburgh's comprehensive search tool that permits searching for databases, genes/proteins, protocols and videos on molecular biology topics.
- Viral Bioinformatics Resource CentreAccess to databases, tools and a blog on viral bioinformatics research.
Keeping Current
- EurekAlert!EurekAlert! is an online, global news service operated by AAAS, the science society. EurekAlert! provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media. Choose from multiple topic areas.
- Medical News Today --Biology/Biochemistry"Medical News Today brings you hourly health news from well-regarded sources such as JAMA, BMJ, Lancet, BMA, plus articles written by our own team. Our archive contains over 150,000 news articles."
- Journal WatchFrom the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine to help physicians and allied heath professionals save time and stay informed by providing brief, clearly written, clinically focused perspectives on the medical developments that affect practice. Some content requires a subscription for access.
Genomic Analysis Tools
- Genome (via NCBI)This resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
- UCSC Genome Bioinformatics SiteGenome browsing tools developed at UCSC (U of Cal at Santa Cruz) that are freely available to academic researchers.
Protocols - Lab Tools - Reagents
- ATCCWebsite for ATCC which is a source of cell lines, bacterial strains and other microbiological reagents. You may access separate pages for microbiology, cell biology, developmental biology and stem cells, and genomics-bioinformatics
- Protocols OnlineCollection of protocols, online analysis tools and discussion forums in various categories that are freely available
Guide Information
Last Updated: Mar 6, 2025 3:06 PM
URL: https://libguides.pcom.edu/cmbm
Subjects: Basic Sciences, Osteopathic Medicine