Planning Your Research
- Conducting Research in Health Professions Education: From Idea to PublicationThe free ebook provides over 40 one-page primers on topics related to medical education research. The ebook explores every stage of research from developing research questions, finding secondary data sources, and working in collaborations, to defining response rate, writing revisions, and promoting your published work.
- Making the Right Moves: A Practical Guide to Scientific Management for Postdocs and New FacultyA free ebook covering topics relevant to new researchers such as laboratory leadership, getting funded, project management, and teaching and course design.
- Protocol BuilderProtocol Builder is a secure, cloud-based technology that can help you write human subjects research protocols faster and more easily. It provides organization, guidance, and collaboration tools to help improve the quality and consistency of clinical research protocols to make internal and IRB review processes more efficient. Have questions using Protocol Builder? Watch a training video or contact Theresa Stem (215-871-6782 or teresaf@pcom.edu).
Funding
- Funding Resources - National Agricultural LibraryProvided by the USDA's National Agricultural Library, this guide identifies and links to searchable databases that offer funding opportunities from government and/or private sources that are available to local governments, community organizations, and individuals.
- Grant ForwardCazoodle, Inc. will takeover the IRIS grant search service to strengthen IRISs features by increasing the coverage of grant opportunities and by improving the way researchers seek new opportunities.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health Grants and FundingThe NCCIH funds and conducts research to help answer important scientific and public health questions about complementary health approaches.
- NIH Grants - Office of Extramural ResearchA central resource for grants and funding information.
- NIH RePORTERRePORTER (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool) combines NIH project databases and funding records, PubMed abstracts, full-text articles from PubMed Central, and information from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office with a robust search engine, allowing users to locate descriptions and funding details on NIH-funded projects along with research results that cite the NIH support.
Data Management
Consult with your liaison for assistance with developing a data management plan, or in locating, describing, storing, or sharing data. Following best practices in research data management can help you, your lab, or center secure grant funding and create data output that becomes part of the scholarly record. The FAIR Data Principles provide a guideline for facilitating Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability, and Re-usability.
Given the importance of managing data, many funding agencies are requiring that plans for managing data be submitted with grant applications. An effective plan to collect, share, reproduce and preserve data may increase the impact of your research.
Image from the University of Maryland Health Sciences and Human Services Library's Research Data Management Services guide.