Planning Your Research
-
Conducting Research in Health Professions Education: From Idea to PublicationThe free ebook provides over 40 one-page primers on topics related to medical education research. The ebook explores every stage of research from developing research questions, finding secondary data sources, and working in collaborations, to defining response rate, writing revisions, and promoting your published work.
-
Making the Right Moves: A Practical Guide to Scientific Management for Postdocs and New FacultyA free ebook covering topics relevant to new researchers such as laboratory leadership, getting funded, project management, and teaching and course design.
-
Protocol Builder Pro
Protocol Builder Pro is an advanced version of the Protocol Builder tool, designed for researchers to create, manage, and share scientific protocols. It offers enhanced features for building complex experimental protocols, tracking revisions, and collaborating with other researchers. Protocol Builder Pro typically includes more customization options, integration with laboratory workflows, and the ability to manage multiple protocols in a more structured and scalable way. It is used primarily by researchers in fields such as biology, chemistry, and medical sciences to standardize and streamline their experimental procedures, ensuring reproducibility and efficiency in research. Have questions using Protocol Builder? Contact Theresa Stem in the Division of Research (215-871-6782 or teresaf@pcom.edu).
-
REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture)
REDCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) is a secure, web-based application designed for managing and collecting research data. It is widely used by academic, nonprofit, and government organizations to streamline data collection processes for research projects, clinical trials, and academic studies. REDCap offers features for building and managing online surveys, databases, and forms. It is designed to be user-friendly, requiring minimal programming knowledge, while also providing robust tools for data validation, project management, and compliance with regulatory standards such as HIPAA and 21 CFR Part 11. Researchers and institutions use REDCap to ensure data security, facilitate collaboration, and improve the efficiency of data collection and analysis in research.
-
RefworksEasily save, insert, and format citations from any database or other resource.
Funding
-
Funding Resources - National Agricultural Library (NAL)
Funding Resources - National Agricultural Library (NAL) is a platform that provides access to a variety of funding opportunities related to agriculture, food, and rural development. Hosted by the National Agricultural Library, it offers information on grants, loans, and other funding programs available from federal, state, and private sources. The platform helps individuals, organizations, and researchers in the agricultural sector find financial support for projects related to farming, research, sustainability, food security, and rural development. It serves as a valuable resource for those seeking funding for agricultural innovation and research initiatives.
-
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health Grants and FundingThe National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) funds and conducts research to help answer important scientific and public health questions about complementary health approaches.
-
National Science Foundation FundingThe U.S. National Science Foundation offers hundreds of funding opportunities — including grants, cooperative agreements and fellowships — that support research and education across science and engineering.
-
NIH Grants - Office of Extramural ResearchA central resource for grants and funding information.
-
NIH RePORTERRePORTER (Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool) combines NIH project databases and funding records, PubMed abstracts, full-text articles from PubMed Central, and information from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office with a robust search engine, allowing users to locate descriptions and funding details on NIH-funded projects along with research results that cite the NIH support.
Data Management
Consult with your liaison for assistance with developing a data management plan, or in locating, describing, storing, or sharing data. Following best practices in research data management can help you, your lab, or center secure grant funding and create data output that becomes part of the scholarly record. The FAIR Data Principles provide a guideline for facilitating Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability, and Re-usability.
Given the importance of managing data, many funding agencies are requiring that plans for managing data be submitted with grant applications. An effective plan to collect, share, reproduce and preserve data may increase the impact of your research.
Image from the University of Maryland Health Sciences and Human Services Library's Research Data Management Services guide.