Databases
-
AccessMedicine
Provides access to a wide-variety of medical resources including videos, self-assessment tools, and access to a multi-disciplinary selection of textbooks. Also includes Quick Reference tools such as the Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7e, and 2 Minute Medicine. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a free Access Profile, which gives you access to additional features, such as bookmarking your favorite content, tracking your self-assessment progress, and receiving tailored alerts and communications. Mobile app available.
-
AccessMedicine - Diagnosaurus
Diagnosaurus, part of the AccessMedicine platform, is a medical reference tool and diagnostic aid designed to help healthcare professionals quickly generate differential diagnoses based on clinical symptoms. It provides a list of potential conditions or diseases that match a set of symptoms entered by the user. Often used by medical students, residents, and clinicians, Diagnosaurus offers a comprehensive database of diseases and conditions, helping to narrow down possible diagnoses and guide further investigation. It's available as both a mobile app and a web tool.
-
AccessObGyn
This database includes ebooks, advance chapters, quick reference, multimedia, cases, and board review resources for students, residents, and practicing obstetricians and gynecologists. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a free Access Profile, which gives you access to additional features, such as bookmarking your favorite content, tracking your self-assessment progress, and receiving tailored alerts and communications. Mobile app available.
-
AccessPediatrics
Pediatrics education and training resource featuring detailed textbook collections, case studies, multimedia, and drug information. Also includes a quick guide. Log in using your PCOM username and password to access all content. Upon logging in, you can optionally create a free Access Profile, which gives you access to additional features, such as bookmarking your favorite content, tracking your self-assessment progress, and receiving tailored alerts and communications. Mobile app available.
-
Case Files Collection - McGraw-Hill
The McGraw-Hill Case Files Collection is a series of educational resources that provides a vast collection of clinical case studies across various medical specialties. These case files are designed to help medical students, residents, and healthcare professionals enhance their clinical reasoning and diagnostic skills. Each case includes patient history, symptoms, test results, and a step-by-step approach to diagnosis and treatment. The collection covers topics in internal medicine, surgery, pediatrics, psychiatry, and other medical fields. The McGraw-Hill Case Files are widely used for self-assessment, exam preparation, and practical learning in medical education.
Journals
-
American Family PhysicianAmerican Family Physician (AFP) is the editorially independent, peer-reviewed and evidence-based medical journal published by the American Academy of Family Physicians. Published continuously since 1950, each issue delivers concise, easy-to-read clinical review articles for physicians and other health care professionals.
-
American Journal of Preventative MedicineThe American Journal of Preventive Medicine is the official journal of the American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research. It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health.
-
American Journal of the Medical SciencesThe American Journal of The Medical Sciences (AJMS), founded in 1820, is the 2nd oldest medical journal in the United States. The AJMS is the official journal of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (SSCI). The SSCI is dedicated to the advancement of medical research and the exchange of knowledge, information and ideas. Its members are committed to mentoring future generations of medical investigators and promoting careers in academic medicine. The AJMS publishes, on a monthly basis, peer-reviewed articles in the field of internal medicine and its subspecialties
-
Annals of Family MedicineAnnals of Family Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed research journal serving the needs of scientists, practitioners, policy makers, and the patients and communities they serve. It is the top-ranked North American primary care research journal, and charges no fees for publication. The journal is a collaborative effort of six family medicine organizations and has been in publication since 2003.
-
BMC Family PracticeAs of the 1st of January 2022, BMC Family Practice has been re-launched as BMC Primary Care. The journal continues to welcome articles on all aspects of primary health care research. By changing our title, we aim to better reflect our aims and scope to an international audience and in turn offer a better service to our authors.
-
BMC Primary careBMC Primary Care, previously known as BMC Family Practice, is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of primary health care research. The journal has a special focus on clinical practice and decision-making, continuing professional education, eHealth, health services research in primary care settings, and health promotion.
-
British Journal of General PracticeBMC Primary Care, previously known as BMC Family Practice, is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of primary health care research. The journal has a special focus on clinical practice and decision-making, continuing professional education, eHealth, health services research in primary care settings, and health promotion.
-
British Medical Journal (BMJ)Since 1840, BMJ Group has been at the forefront of providing research, knowledge, and education to health professionals worldwide, envisioning a healthier world for all. With a global reach spanning five offices across the UK, the Americas, India, and China, we maintain our position as one of the most trusted brands in the world by providing the very best publishing expertise, digital health tools, and learning resources.
-
Canadian Family PhysicianCanadian Family Physician (CFP), a peer-reviewed medical journal, is the official publication of the College of Family Physicians of Canada. Our mission is to ensure that practitioners, researchers, educators and policy makers are informed on current issues and in touch with the latest thinking in the discipline of family medicine; to serve family physicians in all types of practice in every part of Canada in both official languages; to advance the continuing development of family medicine as a discipline; and to contribute to the ongoing improvement of patient care.
-
European Journal of General PracticeEuropean Journal of General Practice is the official journal of WONCA Europe, the European Society of General Practice/Family Medicine. The journal aims to provide new knowledge on medical decision-making, healthcare delivery, medical education, and research methodology for the development of primary care medicine in Europe. Although the journal’s focus is on articles that provide or discuss new evidence underpinning the daily work of the practicing family physician and the primary care team, it welcomes contributions from other disciplines, including health sciences and social sciences.
-
Family & Community HealthFamily & Community Health is a quarterly journal that aims to advance the science of understanding and addressing health inequities among marginalized and vulnerable populations. Despite many existing definitions of health inequity, what is common across them is that differences in risk, incidence, prevalence, treatment, or outcomes between defined populations are systematic, preventable, and unjust. Family & Community Health publishes rigorous scholarly work from multiple disciplines using quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, and systems science to elevate policy-relevant research and practice that acknowledges the roles of social networks, families, and communities in contextualizing health. The Journal will consider theoretical, applied, data-driven, and translational research. The focus of this work needs to be on health inequities, their social and structural determinants, and strategies for intervening, all toward the ultimate goal of advancing health equity.
-
Family PracticeFamily Practice is an international journal aimed at practitioners, teachers, and researchers in the fields of family medicine, general practice, and primary care in both developed and developing countries. Family Practice offers its readership an international view of the problems and preoccupations in the field, while providing a medium of instruction and exploration. The journal's range and content covers such areas as health care delivery, epidemiology, public health, and clinical case studies. The journal aims to be interdisciplinary and contributions from other disciplines of medicine and social science are always welcomed.
-
Journal of Rural HealthThe Journal of Rural Health is a peer-reviewed journal devoted to advancing research on rural health policy, health care delivery, and population health. It is sponsored by the National Rural Health Association (NRHA).
-
Nature MedicineNature Medicine is a monthly journal publishing original peer-reviewed research in all areas of medicine on the basis of its originality, timeliness, interdisciplinary interest and impact on improving human health. Nature Medicine also publishes commissioned content, including News, Reviews and Perspectives, aimed at contextualizing the latest advances in translational and clinical research to reach a wide audience of M.D. and Ph.D. readers. All editorial decisions are made by a team of full-time professional editors.
Books
-
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition
by
ISBN: 9781259862045Publication Date: 2018-12-11The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by over 2,000 illustrations of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues; a new chapter on Zika, Ebola, and other emerging infections. -
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition
by
ISBN: 9781260134896Publication Date: 2020-06-17An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. -
Family Medicine
by
ISBN: 978-3-030-54441-6Publication Date: 2022-01-21Family Medicine: Principles and Practice, 8th Edition, is a must-have reference for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurse practitioners and physician assistants with an active role in patient care. -
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition
by
ISBN: 9781260455342Publication Date: 2019-11-05All the authority of the most trusted brand in medical content in a convenient, portable guide. The Harrison's Manual, derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, delivers numerous clinical algorithms in one practical, portable resource. -
Swanson's Family Medicine Review
by
ISBN: 9780323356329Publication Date: 2016-06-22The 8th edition of Swanson's Family Medicine Review continues this bestselling resource's long tradition as the most effective review tool available. Case histories and multiple-choice questions equip you with the most current developments and information in family medicine, offering all the assistance you need to maximize your preparation for the ABFM exam.
Other Resources
-
American Academy of Family PhysiciansYou Belong at the AAFP. There’s no specialty like family medicine. You put your energy into building healthy patients, families and communities. Lean into us for the connection and education you need to refuel that energ
-
American Board of Family MedicineEstablished by physicians, ABFM Board Certification is a voluntary credential that exceeds state medical licensure requirements. Physicians who choose to take the extra step to achieve and maintain certification are committed to a higher standard of care and professionalism for their patients and communities.
-
World Organization of Family DoctorsWONCA is an unusual, yet convenient acronym comprising the first five initials of the World Organization of National Colleges, Academies and Academic Associations of General Practitioners/Family Physicians. WONCA's short name is World Organization of Family Doctors.The Mission of WONCA is to improve the quality of life of the peoples of the world through defining and promoting its values, including respect for universal human rights and including gender equity, and by fostering high standards of care in general practice/family medicine.