Databases
-
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED)
The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a specialized database that provides access to literature on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) as well as allied health disciplines. It includes a wide range of resources, such as journal articles, conference proceedings, and reports, focusing on therapies like acupuncture, herbal medicine, massage therapy, chiropractic care, and other non-conventional health practices. AMED is used by healthcare professionals, researchers, and students to explore evidence-based information on complementary therapies and to support research and practice in the field of alternative and integrative medicine.
-
Aquifer
Aquifer is an online learning platform designed to provide medical education through interactive, case-based modules. It is primarily used by medical students, educators, and healthcare professionals. Aquifer offers a wide range of clinical case simulations that cover topics across different medical specialties, including pediatrics, internal medicine, family medicine, and obstetrics/gynecology. These cases are designed to help learners develop critical thinking, diagnostic skills, and clinical decision-making abilities. Aquifer's resources are commonly used in medical schools and residency programs to supplement traditional education with real-world scenarios. To use this resource, contact Jim Panacio for account setup and use instructions.
-
Aquifer GeriatricsAquifer Geriatrics 28 virtual patient cases address the AAMC geriatrics competencies and are sponsored by the Association of Directors of Geriatric Academic Programs. Aquifer Geriatrics is a collaboration between Aquifer and the American Geriatrics Society (AGS).
-
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly known as Lexicomp)
Robust drug information database of pharmacologic and clinical information. It includes AHFS, drug ID info, drug interactions, pediatric and geriatric databases, etc. Online version includes insurance plan coverage.
Journals
Geriatrics
-
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (JAGS)Included in more than 15,000 library collections around the world, JAGS is the go-to journal for clinical aging research. We provide a diverse, interprofessional community of healthcare professionals with the latest insights on geriatrics education, clinical practice, and public policy—all supporting the high-quality, person-centered care essential to our well-being as we age Our rigorous peer-review process ensures that we bring healthcare professionals, older adults, and caregivers research with the potential to impact public policy and geriatrics care today—and tomorrow. Since the publication of our first edition in 1953, JAGS has remained one of the oldest and most impactful journals dedicated exclusively to gerontology and geriatrics.
-
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association (JAMDA)JAMDA is the leading peer-reviewed publication for practical information and research directly applicable to healthcare professionals providing post-acute and long-term care (PA/LTC), as well as policy-makers, organizational leaders, educators, and advocates. The journal is an indispensable resource for medical directors, attending physicians, nurses, consultant pharmacists, geriatric psychiatrists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, social workers, and others providing, overseeing, and promoting quality PA/LTC.
Palliative Medicine
-
Journal of Pain and Symptom ManagementOfficial Journal of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine and the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization The Journal of Pain and Symptom Management is an internationally respected, peer-reviewed journal and serves an interdisciplinary audience of professionals by providing a forum for the publication of the latest clinical research and best practices related to the relief of illness burden among patients afflicted with serious or life-threatening illness.
Books
Geriatrics
-
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry
by
ISBN: 9781585624843Publication Date: 2015-03-18An indispensable resource for psychiatric clinicians and trainees charged with assessing, diagnosing, and treating mental disorders in our nation's burgeoning population of older adults, as well as the nurses and other professionals who provide critically important care day to day. -
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition
by
ISBN: 9781259860515Publication Date: 2017-09-28The leading introductory textbook on geriatrics - completely updated and revised. Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics is an engagingly written, up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. -
Geriatrics At Your Fingertips
by
ISBN: 9781886775404Publication Date: 2016Annually updated reference that provides quick, easy access to the specific information clinicians need to make decisions about the care of older adults.
Palliative Medicine
-
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations
by
ISBN: 9781585284290Publication Date: 2018-08-31Praised by students and instructors for its engaging approach to teaching a very complex subject, Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations: A Guide for Effective Dosing, has long been the go-to guide for learning how to calculate opioid conversions. -
Oxford American Handbook of Hospice and Palliative Medicine
by
ISBN: 9780199701681Publication Date: 2011-01-01This handbook provides an easily navigable source of information about the day-to-day management of patients requiring palliative and hospice care. -
Mastering Communication with Seriously Ill Patients
by
ISBN: 9780511576454Publication Date: 2009-11-23Physicians who care for patients with life-threatening illnesses face daunting communication challenges. Patients and family members can react to difficult news with sadness, distress, anger, or denial. This book defines the specific communication tasks involved in talking with patients with life-threatening illnesses and their families.
Other Resources
Geriatrics
-
10 Medications Older Adults Should Avoid or Use with CautionBecause older adults often experience chronic health conditions that require treatment with multiple medications, there is a greater likelihood of experiencing unwanted drug side effects. Older people can also be more sensitive to certain medications.
-
American Geriatrics SocietyThe AGS is a society of geriatrics healthcare professionals dedicated to improving the health, independence, and quality of life of older people.
-
Geriatrics Care OnlineThe American Geriatrics Society's (AGS) GeriatricsCareOnline.org is your one-stop online resource to purchase AGS publications and products and to license online access to comprehensive content and topic-specific bundles of information tailored to meet your specific needs. Provides high-quality, trustworthy information created to ensure that all health care professionals have the latest research on caring for older adults. Offers an optimized search tool to enable you to search across the AGS product portfolio and quickly find tools and products that meet your specific needs.
-
National Institute on AgingNIA provides health information informed by research and reviewed by experts to help you learn about healthy aging and common health conditions in older adults.
-
Post Acute and Long Term Care Medical Society (PALTCmed)Formerly known as the American Medical Directors Association (AMDA). Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medical Association (PALTmed) is the only medical specialty society representing the community of medical directors, physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other practitioners working in the various post-acute and long-term care (PALTC) settings. The Society’s members work in skilled nursing facilities, long-term care and assisted living communities, CCRCs, home care, hospice, PACE programs, and other settings.
Palliative Medicine
-
American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (AAHPM)The Academy consists of doctors and various healthcare professionals focusing on hospice and palliative care, collaborating with a team of professionals, paying attention to patients, and tailoring their care to their priorities, while assisting families in understanding the the complex healthcare system.
-
Primer of Palliative CareThis is set up as a course on the AAHPM site. There is a registration fee that is not covered by the Library.
-
Essential Practices for Hospice and Palliative Care, 5th ed. (formerly UNIPAC Series)This is set up as a course on the AAHPM site. There is a registration fee that is not covered by the Library.
-
Council of Advanced Palliative Care (CAPC)The Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC) is a national organization dedicated to increasing the availability of quality, equitable health care for people living with serious illness. As the nation’s leading resource in its field, CAPC provides health care professionals and organizations with the training, tools, and technical assistance necessary to effectively meet this need.
-
Palliative Care Network of Wisconsin (PCNOW)Formerly known as EPERC. The purpose of EPERC is to share educational resource material among the community of health professional educators involved in palliative care education. Through your participation in this site, we seek to foster the continued development of palliative care education.
Guide Information
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2025 11:42 AM
URL: https://libguides.pcom.edu/graduate_medical_education
Subjects: Osteopathic Medicine