Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks

The purpose of this guide is to introduce researchers to the wonderful world of RefWorks!

Annotating Documents in RefWorks

You can annotate any of your own documents saved in RefWorks. You may be able to annotate documents shared with you if you have been given permission to annotate and/or modify the document.

To annotate a document, select the reference with the document and click the "Read" button in the viewing pane. The document will display in the reader. Click the Document Notes icon from the reader menu and enter your notes.

If you wish to make highlight areas of text, select the text area you wish to make a note for using the Highlight Selected Text icon and select words of text by clicking and dragging through the lines of text.

To remove highlighting, click the highlighted area until the delete option displays. Click "Delete Conversation".

You may also click and drag using the Comment icon to highlight the text and associate a comment with it.

You can change the color of your note and the associated highlighted text, edit your note or you can delete your note completely by clicking on the three dots at the far right in the note.

A note indicator will also appear to the far right of the selected area and you may access the note in the manner as well.

Once you type a note, it is automatically saved.

Accessing your Documents Offline

RefWorks allows you to view and read your documents without being connected to the internet using a service called Dropbox. You’ll need to download the Dropbox installer and create a Dropbox account which you will link to your RefWorks account.

To link RefWorks to Dropbox:

  • If you have a Dropbox account, enter your login credentials and click “Sign in”.  If you are new to Dropbox, click the “create an account” link on the Dropbox site and download and install Dropbox on your computer.
  • You’ll be asked to give RefWorks permission to create a folder in your Dropbox called “ProQuest RefWorks” in your Apps folder.  This is where RefWorks will place a copy of your articles.
    You can only store your own articles in Dropbox – articles in shared collections are not included.  All of your articles (regardless of what Collection they are filed in) are saved to your ProQuest RefWorks folder in your Apps folder.

After you first set up your connection from RefWorks to Dropbox, newly uploaded documents  you save to RefWorks are automatically saved in Dropbox When you remove a document from your RefWorks library, we’ll also remove it from Dropbox as well.

To disconnect your RefWorks account from Dropbox:

  1. Log in to RefWorks.
  2. Click your name, then select “Tools”
  3. In the "General" area, scroll down and click the “Unlink” button in the Dropbox area of the page.

RefWorks will no longer sync your files with Dropbox.  Articles currently in your ProQuest RefWorks folder in Dropbox will remain.